Grim Reaper^


As a reaper, you gain the following class features.

  • Hit Dice: 1d10 per reaper level
  • Hit Points at 1st Level: 10 + your Constitution modifier
  • Hit Points at Higher Levels: 1d10 (or 6) + your Constitution modifier per reaper level after 1st
  • Armor: none
  • Weapons: Simple weapons
  • Tools: a Gaming set of your choice, and a Musical instrument of your choice.
  • Saving Throws: Constitution, Charisma
  • Skills: You gain proficiency in Religion, and may choose either Arcana, History, Intimidation, Insight, Perception, or Stealth.

You start with the following equipment, in addition to the equipment granted by your background:

  • Scythe
  • (a) a scholar’s pack or (b) a dungeoneer’s pack
  • fine dark clothes
  • a music instrument and a gaming set.
The Reaper
LevelProficiency BonusFeaturesCantripsMax Spell LevelSpell Points
1st+2Undead NatureGrim FeastHollow Eyes
2nd+2Grim MantleReaper’s ScytheSpellcasting212
3rd+2Deathly Calling213
4th+2Ability Score Improvement OR Feat313
5th+3Culling Blade328
7th+3Deathly Calling Feature3212
8th+3Ability Score Improvement OR Feat3212
9th+4Grim Mantle Improvement3318
10th+4Undead Nature Improvement4318
11th+4Mystic Arcanum (6th Level)4321
12th+4Ability Score Improvement OR Feat4321
13th+5Mystic Arcanum (7th Level)4425
14th+5Culling Blade Improvement4425
15th+5Deathly Calling Feature4429
16th+5Ability Score Improvement OR Feat4429
17th+6Reaper’s Scythe Improvement4534
18th+6Grim Mantle Improvement4534
19th+6Ability Score Improvement OR Feat4539
20th+6Deathly Calling Feature4539

Undead Nature

Being dead comes with certain perks, as such at 1st level you gain resistance to necrotic damage, you are immune to being frightened, exhausted, poisoned and you cannot be put to sleep by magical or mundane means. However, undead is now added to your creature type, as such anything that effects undead applies to you, and healing spells no longer work on you. Lastly, you no longer need food, air or water to survive.
At level 10 you also gain the ability to ignore necrotic resistance.

Grim Feast

Starting from 1st level, you can consume souls of the recently departed. You can use a bonus action to eat the life essences of a creature within 10 feet who has died in the past hour. When consumed, the Grim Reaper gains hitpoints equal to the HD of the soul consumed (minimum of 1). If at maximum hitpoints the character receives temporary hit points equal to the creature’s CR. Since you eat the life essence, it makes the soul consumed unable to be revived in any way other than the Wish spell. This does not work on creature lacking a soul

Hollow Eyes

At 1st level you gain darkvision with no maximum range; you can see in dim light as if it were bright light and in darkness as if it were dim light.
As an action, you can magically give the benefit of this feature to any number of creatures you can see within 10 feet of you. The shared benefit lasts for 10 minutes. You can extend this benefit a number of times equal to your Charisma modifier (a minimum of once), and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.)

Grim Mantle

Beginning at 2nd level, an ethereal robe of Death has been bestowed upon you. It materializes as a regular black frayed cloak draped around your person with flowing sleeves and coattails. It can be taken off, but cannot be lost or permanently destroyed for any reason. Should it go more than 30 feet from your person, it will appear back around your shoulders; if it manages to be destroyed, it will reappear around your shoulders after a Short Rest.
Your AC becomes equal to [10 + Constitution modifier + Charisma modifier].
At 9th level, your cloak provides you with advantage on saving throws against spells. Furthermore, you have resistance against the damage of spells.
At 18th level, your cloak also provides you with, immunity to necrotic, resistance to the following types of damage: slashing, piercing, and bludgeoning, from nonmagical sources.

Reaper’s Scythe

At 2nd level you learn to empower your scythe, it now counts as magical for the purpose of overcoming resistance. It also provides you with +2 AC, as you learn to parry with it while not incapacitated.
At 17th level once per short rest when you miss with an attack you may choose to reroll it.


By 2nd level, you have learned to draw on the weave to cast spells.


The Reaper table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells. To cast one of your reaper spells of 1st level or higher, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.

You prepare the list of reaper spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the reaper spell list. When you do so, choose a number of reaper spells equal to your Charisma modifier + half your reaper level, rounded down (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.

For example, if you are a 5th-level reaper, you have four 1st-level and two 2nd-level spell slots. With a Charisma of 14, your list of prepared spells can include four spells of 1st or 2nd level, in any combination. Casting the spell doesn’t remove it from your list of prepared spells.

You can change your list of prepared spells when you finish a long rest. Preparing a new list of reaper spells requires at least 1 minute per spell level for each spell on your list.


Charisma is your spellcasting ability for your reaper spells, since their power derives from the strength of your convictions. You use your Charisma whenever a spell refers to your spellcasting ability. In addition, you use your Charisma modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a reaper spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one.

Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier

Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier


You can use your scythe as a spellcasting focus for your reaper spells.

Deathly Calling

At 3rd level you have discovered your place on the wheel, you may choose an archetype, from Death Collector, Soul Reaper and Grim Apparition. Your choice grants you features at 3rd level and again at 7th, 15th, and 20th level. 

Ability Score Improvement

When you reach 4th level, and again at 8th, 12th, 16th, and 19th level, you can increase one ability score of your choice by 2, or you can increase two ability scores of your choice by 1. As normal, you can’t increase an ability score above 20 using this feature.

Culling Blade

At 5th level your attacks with your scythe now crit on a 19.
At 14th level your crit range increases to 18


Death is very hard to kill, at 6th level when you are reduced to 0 hp, you may choose to instead drop to 1 and may make an attack of oppurtunity against the creature who damaged you, if they are within range. You may use this feature a number of times equal to your Constitution modifer per long rest.

Mystic Arcanum

At 11th level, the bosses have seen fit to bestow upon you a magical secret called an arcanum. Choose one 6th-level spell from the reaper spell list as this arcanum.

You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot. You must finish a long rest before you can do so again.

At 13th level you also gain a 7th-level spell from the reaper spell list. You regain all uses of your Mystic Arcanum when you finish a long rest.

Image –